Update

I wanted to give you a quick update on how 36/365 is going. In short, it’s going very, very well. I’m still loving living my life without worrying about my clothing. No, I haven’t cheated. Yes, I’ve had to tweak a thing or two.

This 3/4 sleeve black t-shirt drove me crazy. I found myself not wearing it because where it hit just below my elbow bugged me. So, I freecycled it and bought an organic cotton short sleeve black t-shirt from Eileen Fisher. Here’s my new shirt:

It’s comfy and soft. It’s also nice and long, so I’m not tugging on it to hit the waist band on my low-slung jeans, which I live in. Speaking of my jeans, they’ve seen better days.

I’ve ironed a patch inside one of the knees.

I also ironed on patches on the inside of both sides of the rear end, which were getting dangerously thin.

Let’s see. I sat on some oil while wearing these, which ruined them. They’re now in the rag bag.

I also simplified my scarfs down to these:

I wear one of the two scarves almost every day.

The bottom line is that I’m wearing less than 36 pieces. I’ll have to sit down and figure out what I’m living on, but it’s definitely less than 36. All in all, it’s been pretty darn easy. The pieces that I’m wearing often are definitely worse for the wear. But, I like wearing out my clothes. I’ll keep you posted on what’s next as the end of the experiment approaches. For now, I’m just enjoying the ride of having a simple capsule wardrobe that works all year long.

4 Comments on “Update”

  1. Anne says:

    Congratulations, You have done incredibly well, I can’t believe it’s been nearly a year already. Wow!
    I bet you are surprised how little you need/want and how easy it has been.
    What’s next for you?

    I’m still paring down my wardrobe but as I’m about to change my life greatly very soon I am waiting to see what may no longer be needed in terms of work wear.!

  2. Marcy says:

    Wow, just wow!! I can’t believe it’s been almost a year either!! I’m loving the update as well! I’m impressed that you took preventative maintenance on your jeans- it makes good sense, but I’ve never done– I’ve never worn out a pair of jeans as an adult. I’m going to go back to the beginning and re-read!

    • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

      Thanks, Marcy! I’m feeling a bit like a little kid- wearing out my clothes and all. When I was little, Sears carried a brand of jeans called Tough Skins- they had reinforced knees I think. Might need to consider those next time :-).


Leave a Reply

