Outfit and Status- January 9, 2012

Reader Marcy asked me how the project was going this week, so I thought that I’d catch you up. While I’ve been neglecting the blog, I haven’t been neglecting Project 36/365. It’s been serving me; not the other way around.

I’m in my fifth month, and it’s going really well. In fact, I’m loving it. What you see to the side is one of my uniforms. You’ll find me in some variation of this outfit at least a couple of times a week. I don’t mind wearing the same thing all the time. In fact, I kind of like it. I don’t have to worry about what I’m going to wear, and all my clothes match. Marcy asked me in my last post if I had been tempted to cheat. Only once. When I wore my big Keen messenger bag to a cocktail party, I was tempted to take my great grandmother’s evening bag instead. I resisted the temptation. I was at a fundraiser for a cause that I care about deeply. My guess is that in that crowd, no one either noticed or cared about my purse.

Other than that, what’s changed? I’ve taken two scarves out of the mix. One I didn’t wear because it was itchy. The other was out because the size was awkward. I added my tennis shoes. I was working at a fundraiser in November, and it became very clear that I would need my tennis shoes in order for my feet to take the long days. Then, I worked at another fundraiser for all of December. Again, I had long days on concrete floors. I decided that I really needed my tennis shoes to live the life in front of me. Loving my boots. But, when I work for days in a row, my feet need a break from my boots.

How’s it going for everyone else? I would love to hear from you!

One Comment on “Outfit and Status- January 9, 2012”

  1. Mrs. C says:

    In the months since I started this challenge I have moved to another state, lifestyle and climate. Therefore, I have found it needful to make a few changes. The majority of my “36” are still in a box lost in storage at the moment, I am living out of a suitcase, but it is working for me! I have added a pair of sturdy leather boots that look great with my skirts but are very comfortable and warm and are appropriate for outdoor tromping and work too. One of my denim skirts ripped from wear (not repairable, but recyclable,) so it has been replaced with a khaki macabe skirt. (I’m testing the macabe—not sure I like it yet, time will tell) And I have added a faux hooded sheepskin ankle length coat thrifted for $7.50—a God-send for surviving the bitter cold & winds when working or exercising outdoors here. When I find the rest of my clothes, I will adjust the numbers accordingly, and make a blog post of it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

