The B Corp and My Boots

Like a dog with a bone, I keep chewing on the issue with my boots. My husband and I are in the process of selecting a legal structure for our new business. One of the structures we’re considering is a B Corp. Stated below is the B Corp Declaration of Interdependence from the B Corp website.

We envision a new sector of the economy which harnesses the power of private enterprise to create public benefit.

This sector is comprised of a new type of corporation the B Corporation
which is purpose-driven and creates benefit for all stakeholders, not just shareholders.

As members of this emerging sector and as entrepreneurs and investors in B Corporations,

We hold these truths to be self-evident:

– That we must be the change we seek in the world.

– That all business ought to be conducted as if people and place mattered.

– That, through their products, practices, and profits, businesses should aspire to do no harm and benefit all.

– To do so requires that we act with the understanding that we are each dependent upon another and thus responsible for each other and future generations.

How does this relate to my boots? I found out today that Dansko is a certified B Corporation, and they also make boots. The fact that Dansko is willingly committing to seek the benefit of “all stake holders” instead of just share holders helps me to have more faith in them. The fact that they have committed to a higher level of environmental standards makes me want to support them. The Declaration of Interdependence above deeply resonates with me. While I don’t love the way that Dansko boots look, I love what they stand for. I also know that their products are well made, and thus I’ll have those boots for a long time- which makes environmental sense. Then there’s the fact that my feet really like Dansko shoes.

I’m still searching in thrift stores, but I have a hunch that my boots will be made by Dansko.

3 Comments on “The B Corp and My Boots”

  1. Denise says:

    Thank you so much for doing the research. The companies you locate hang out in the recesses of my brain ready to access when I need to make a purchase. And when my brain fails, I can always check your blog.

  2. Kathy says:

    Interesting fact about Dansko…I love their clogs and own several pairs! Good luck on your hunt for boots!


Leave a Reply

