Dilemma

Uh oh. I realized yesterday that I have one too many items in my wardrobe, so I need to put one item into storage. The two pieces that are on the chopping block are my khaki capris and my red sarong.

While I don’t really love my capris, they are very functional. I do love my red sarong, but I doubt that it will get as much use as my khaki capris. So, what do you think? Which one should go? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

18 Comments on “Dilemma”

  1. Isabel says:

    Wow – the sarong in very beautiful, but I’m thinking it should go for the same reasons you gave. Capris are more functional….

    I”m so excited about this project and I will live vicariously through you. I know that someday in the near future I will be 36/360ing it :0)

  2. Clara says:

    I would go for the sarong! It’ll add some color to your wardrobe, and if you truly love it, and are making do with only 36 items, I think you’ll wear it more than you otherwise would. Just a thought πŸ˜‰

  3. I think I would keep he sarong. It could double as a wrap and a shawl.
    Capris might be more limited as the winter comes in, no?

    I made a start on my sort out today. Very interesting.

  4. Mary says:

    I’d keep the sarong too. Why dress in something that you feel is “boring and functional” when you can dress in something that you love and feel wonderful in? Isn’t that what life is all about?

  5. Robin Johnson Simpson says:

    Thanks for being pro-sarong! Let me ask you something . . . Do you think that I can get away with wearing a sarong with leggings underneath and boots in the winter? The sarong with leggings seem fine- it’s the boots that throw me. Frankly, though, I don’t know that the capris will work with boots either. So, there may be a few pieces that work for only two seasons.

    Then again, I live outside San Francisco. If I’m dressed a little weird or out-of-season, there’s a good chance that no one will even notice! Frankly, I find that freeing.

    • Mary says:

      Why not try it a couple of different ways. . .take some photos and let us see if it will work. I’m having a bit of difficulty visioning it.

      • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

        Great idea! Unfortunately, I don’t actually own any boots yet. I still have to buy them.

  6. Hi di hi
    I love the sarong but are the capris more practical? No cancel that thought – I think keep the sarong because you can drape it in the colder weather but capris are no good in the cold. Am I right or am I right?
    Cheers
    Linda
    Taupo
    New Zealand

  7. Allie says:

    I’m also trying very hard to limit my wardrobe, which I’m actually really enjoying, and also struggle with the whole “but it’s/they’re so functional”. I think we should all try to embrace the thought of loving every piece that’s in our closet – because if we don’t love the thing on the hanger, odds are we will think “blech” every time we wear the thing too. I’ve kept a few uninspiring pieces, and when a new multi-season item that I DO love comes along, I incorporate that item into my wardrobe and donate the functional yet unexciting item.

  8. Isabel says:

    So, I clearly have a lot to learn about his process. I don’t like the words dull and practical, and even functional – they are like nails on a chalk board, but I do know that when you are faced with an endeavor like this, you need to be aware of at least practical and functional (functional does have the work “fun” in it). I love the idea of LOVING every piece in your closet (I am a far cry from that, if fact, I don’t know if I look in my closet much). Can the capris be redefined? I don’t know……With the suggestions that I’ve heard, the sarong can be worn all year and I don’t see boots with the capris (However, I have been off before) and if anyone can do it, you can. Then we are back to how much use are you going to get out of each item if you choose keep it……I don’t think I’m being much help – I’m going to think some more πŸ™‚

    • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

      I hear you. Dull, practical, functional- eeek! So, if the world was my oyster, I would probably buy a new pair of khakis. A pair that I love that would work with sandals or boots. But trying to find khakis that fit in a thrift store is like finding a needle in a haystack, and it’s too stressful for me to find a sweatshop-free pair in stores.

      So far, I’ve just kept these. They probably work for 7-8 months a year. I’m not feelin’ it either with the boots and capris, Isabel. There’s a whole side story about me and a pair of gauchos and rain boots when I was little. In the ’70’s the look was to wear gauchos with gogo boots. My mom thought that rain boots from K-mart with day-glo red fur peeking out the top of the boots with my gauchos would work. So, I wore my gauchos with ugly boots. As if I needed help feeling awkward being painfully tall and skinny. Picture pencil legs with too short boots and too short gauchos. And a new Toni perm. Ouch. How did I get here? Oh yes- I have “baggage” that will probably keep me from wearing capris with boots.

      Isabel, I’m with you. I have a lot to learn about this process, too. It will be interesting to see what I glean over the next year.

      Thanks for all the help, guys. I’m feeling a bit schizophrenic (sp?) about the capris and the sarong.

  9. Can you sew?
    Maybe that would be a way to avoid the sweatshop clothes and at the same time get things which fit. Simple pants aren’t complicated at all. Make them with an elastic waistband to start with and it will only take a couple of hours.

    • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

      I can’t sew. For now, I don’t want to learn. Maybe some day. For now, I have too much on my plate. But, having some made is a lovely idea.

  10. Liz Gerstung says:

    I love the sarong!!!!! Skirts are great to wear and feel so “girly!” I started wearing skirts and dresses a lot more a few years ago and love them! πŸ™‚

  11. Sarong! Wear with tights and boots as the winter comes on. Since this project is not supposed to be about deprivation, why hang onto boring beige capris that you don’t really like? Can you replace them with something you do like and could wear with more satisfaction?


Leave a Reply

