Well, this is embarrassing . . .

I took inventory of my closet yesterday, and I had a bit more clothing than I thought.  Teaches me not to be smug- ever.  In my own defense, I’m no longer technically doing Project 333.  And I had gotten all of my wardrobe back out of the garage to get ready for 36/365.  That being said, I wrote just last week that I thought I had somewhere around 40 articles of clothing.  I was just wrong.  Maybe delusional.  61.  Ouch.  61 pieces of clothing.  I won’t put you through the tedium of telling you exactly what was in my closet and where it now all is.  What I can tell you is that all the items that made the cut will be used in my 36/365 wardrobe- at least, I think they will.  All the other items have either been donated or put into storage.  The photos above are of the new “cleaned out” closet.  Makes me say “ahhhhhh” when I look inside.

So, here’s what I have left:

  1. Gray t shirt
  2. Rust t shirt
  3. Black 3/4 sleeve t-shirt
  4. Black cotton cami
  5. Beige tank
  6. Beige ribbed fitted turtle neck
  7. White cotton blouse
  8. Black ribbed sweater
  9. Oatmeal cardigan
  10. Jeans
  11. Black leggings
  12. Khaki capris
  13. Denim skirt
  14. Black maxi skirt
  15. Sari skirt
  16. Red sarong
  17. Black travel dress
  18. Blue long t-shirt dress
  19. Green Mata Traders dress
  20. Black and rust scarf
  21. Gray and Beige scarf
  22. Rust scarf
  23. Black belt
  24. Black evening dress
  25. Black evening shoes
  26. Chacco sandals
  27. Pink rain boots
  28. Silver ring
  29. Silver dangle earrings
  30. Fleece
  31. Goretex jacket

That leaves me with five more articles of clothing to get before September 1.  Here’s what I’m thinking:

  1. Black boots
  2. Black flats
  3. Black cardigan
  4. Black skinny pants
  5. Gray long sleeve t-shirt

What do you think?  I’m pretty sure that it will work for the summer.  I’m already living out of this wardrobe any way.  But, will it work for the winter?  I can make most of my skirts work through the winter by putting leggings on under them.  I’m thinking that I’ll need another long sleeve shirt, which is why I put a long sleeve gray t-shirt on my potential list of clothing to get.  Would I be better off to kiss evening wear good bye for the year?  We don’t go to many “evening wear” kinds of functions.  But, I already know that I have one event in November that I’ll be going to.  I could make my black maxi skirt and a top work for that if need be.

I would love to hear your thoughts.  Any glaring problems?

8 Comments on “Well, this is embarrassing . . .”

  1. Rebecca says:

    You need a set of matching hangers. A closet just doesn’t look neat without them.

  2. Christy says:

    I am going to join you on this project. I am going to start on 9/1. I will be making a little change in my version. We have such distinct differences in summer and winter weather where I live, that I am going to have a summer and winter set of clothes. Several pieces I own will transition, though. I have a lot of planning to do and maybe a few gaps to fill. I DEFINITELY have a lot of excess clothing to purge. But I WILL be ready on 09/01. I am going to track my progress on my blog: http://www.lifewaylessordinary.blogspot.com/. Thanks for the great idea!

  3. Mary says:

    I am so glad I found you at the beginning of this journey! I am starting it as well. Only my journey has a bit of a twist. See, I have gained about 40 pounds in the past couple of years and am starting the journey to get them off. My goal is to only replace clothing as I need to and keep it simple on my way to my goal weight. Then, once I am at my goal weight, I am going to create a minimalist wardrobe. Can’t wait!

    Thanks for the encouragement!

    • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

      So glad to have you, Mary! Bravo on your commitment to getting healthy. Keep me posted on how you’re doing!

  4. Missuz C says:

    Ok, I’m in.
    I did the Miss Minimalist/Project333 thing about 6 weeks ago, took me about 2-3 days to get the closet in shape. I have photos I would be willing to share, if you like. At present, I have purged to summer things which hang in my closet, and a plastic bin of winter things. The summer things all went on hangers that were backwards when I put them in the closet—that has been a real eye-opener! I, too, thrift for most of my clothing and was spending waaay too much time and collecting too much…..my current goal is to not even enter a thrifty until October, at which time I will look for anything I may need for winter. So, even though I may not be pared down to 36 by September 1, I would like to be pared down to that one year from now. That gives me a full year to experience the seasons and make realistic decisions about what I need and what I dont. Minimalizing is, after all, a process!

    • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

      Perfect- so glad to have you! You’re so right- minimizing is a process. I’m going to start on September 1, but I would be happy to have you join in whenever you’re ready. Would love to see your pictures! Keep me posted on how your simplification is going. Thanks for writing!


Leave a Reply

