Will you journey with me?

One of the things that I’m hoping for with Project 36/365 is to have a community to do this experiment with me. I’m starting this project six weeks ahead of time so that you’ll know that you’re not late to the party. There’s time to get ready. One of my problems with Project 333 was that I kept on shopping. At thrift stores, but none-the-less, I kept gaining articles of clothing. I need accountability. If I know you’re looking over my shoulder, I’m way less likely to make those thrift store purchases. I want help in finding that comfy pair of black boots to take me from October through May. I want to support you as you try to figure out what items still need to go from your wardrobe. I’ll probably need help in paring mine down, too. In other words, I want to struggle through the next six weeks or so together as we ramp up to live on less clothing over the next year. Come September 1, I want to just enjoy it. Together with you. I want to reflect on what it’s like not to purchase. I want to reflect on what clothing means and why I’ve spent so much time thinking about it. If Kristy Powell is wearing one dress for a year, I can surely get by with 36 items. I want my clothing to fade into the background as I spend my creativity on my business and my family, and I want to feel great in my clothing while I’m at it. Want to come along?

10 Comments on “Will you journey with me?”

  1. Beverly says:

    I think I DO want to come along! I’m going to follow your lead and map out what roles I am in and how I can re-vamp my four “modules” for an entire year. This idea has me as excited as P333 did last summer!!

  2. I am hoping to join you too. I am a school nurse, so I wear uniforms, but I only have five sets of scrubs. I live in an area that goes from extreme heat and humidity in the summer to freezing temps in the winter. I want to do this because I find I have things in my closest I like but never actually wear. Do you count shoes and accessories in your count?

    • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

      Hi Stacey- I also had a lot of items in my closet that I never wore. You do count shoes, accessories and outerwear. If you decide to do 36/365, I would love to hear what you decide to keep in your wardrobe. Best to you!

  3. Carolyn says:

    Hmmmm…..definitely considering coming along. Need to do some serious downsizing around here.

  4. Cara says:

    Hi Robin
    I am doing a no-clothes-shopping for a year project here… http://myyearwithoutclothesshopping.com

    I started on June 23rd of this year, and so far so good. I will follow you along, but I don’t want to weed anything down too much right now since I’m not replacing anything for awhile…! But I am trying to figure out the capsules, etc. with what I own currently, and am trying to take excellent care of what I have as well.

    Right now I am enjoying the freedom that is coming from no longer even going into clothing stores and having the psychic space freed up in my head around shopping : )

    I live in France where clothes make the woman. There is a lot of pressure to look lovely. I am trying to do just that but with what’s already in my closet. No more brainless clothes shopping, no more buying into the idea that I just don’t have enough – that there will never be enough…

    Kristin’s project is very inspiring to me too – I saw your comment and clicked on your name. I would love to take it to that level – maybe someday I will.

    à bientôt

    Cara

    • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

      Hi Cara- Love your blog! I’m looking forward to looking around a bit and learning more about your project. I love it when you say that you are ” enjoying the freedom that is coming from no longer even going into clothing stores and having the psychic space freed up in my head around shopping : ).” That’s one of the things that I’m most looking forward to in doing this project. Thanks for stopping in!

  5. Rainey Day says:

    Late to the party, but when you were first on the Project 333 blog in August I was smack in the middle of my first Project 333 round as well as in the process of miscarrying…so I didn’t jump in then. I’ve since gotten pregnant and lost yet another baby and now the plan is to not even try for another kiddo till at least early summer of next year.

    So I have been making plans now to get a bicycle and dig out my hoop and start biking and hooping to shape up, to work on minimizing and decluttering my house even more, and to jump back into a clothing project. Since I’m not a fan of packing away clothes because Texas weather can be so unpredictable, I have decided that I’d much rather have a year-round wardrobe of 36 items, versus reworking a 33 item wardrobe every three months. So can I join in a bit late? My personal project 36/365 would not be starting till January 1st, giving me approximately the same amount of time to prep that you gave yourself and those who started with you in September. Should I actually get pregnant before September, I might have to stop my project when yours ends…but if I’m not pregnant before October 1st, then I think I can make my goal of a whole year!!

    I did tweak your rules just a smidge. My two tweaks to your rules are that ALL my jewelry (once I go through and minimize a bit) counts as ONE of my 36 items…because I like to switch up my jewelry a bit. My other tweak is that there are a few items that are destined to be replaced as funds come in (coat, boots, a belt) that I will start off the challenge with the older/uglier/more torn up version..but will replace as I can during the challenge. Examples include replacing my in-it’s-sixth-winter black wool coat with a new black trench coat with removable liner, replacing my chintzy belt with a real leather one, and the big one…replacing my $3 Goodwill boots (made from man-made materials and patched with black duct tape where no one can see) with a quality pair of chunky heeled leather boots!!

    • Robin Johnson Simpson says:

      I’m so sorry to hear about your two miscarriages. I’m glad to have you here- and glad that you’re tweaking my arbitrary guidelines to fit what you need. Keep me posted on how you’re doing. Both the 36/365 project and otherwise. Sounds like you have some exciting changes planned!


Leave a Reply

