How do I even start?

So, how do you even begin this process of narrowing your wardrobe down to 36 pieces?  I’m guessing that this might feel overwhelming if you have a closet full of clothing.  I’ve gotten rid of more than half of my clothing over the last year, and it’s taken me quite a bit of time to do this.  In the process described below, I’m borrowing both from the Project 333 and the Miss Minimalist websites.  Here is my suggestion for a process that I’ve found to be helpful in minimizing your wardrobe:

  1. Take all of your clothing out of your closets and your drawers.  I know it’s a pain, but I think that it’s a necessary step.
  2. Put any pieces that are tattered or stained in your “give away” pile (including your under clothing!).
  3. Think about the following as you look at each piece of clothing:  Do you love it?  Does it fit you well and is it flattering?  Do you get compliments when you wear it?  Is it comfortable?  If an item doesn’t meet these criteria, the item should go in your “give away” pile.
  4. Before any item goes back into your closet, you need to try it on.  Yep- every piece.  When I went through this step, I found that some of the pieces in my closet weren’t as flattering as I had thought.
  5. If you haven’t worn a piece of clothing for a while, put it into your closet with the hanger backwards.    Each time you wear a piece of clothing, turn the hanger around.  This will help you to see which items you wear and which items you don’t.
  6. I might lose some of you here.  But, if your shoes are uncomfortable, they should go.  Only shoes that feel great should stay.

While this exercise won’t get you down to 36 items, it will reduce your wardrobe down to the items that fit and are flattering.  My hope is that in narrowing your wardrobe down in this exercise, it will help you feel less overwhelmed as you trim back to 36 items.

What tips have you found helpful in simplifying your wardrobe?

Leave a Reply

